An Ode to the Turkey

As this year’s holiday season approaches, we all dream of that glorious turkey in the middle of a nicely decorated table adorned with the sweet treats we have come to expect over the years. Yams, green beans, bread, pumpkin pie, turkey, gravy, stuffing…and the list goes on and on.

I am a lover of the Thanksgiving holiday and I must admit I am distressed that Thanksgiving gets overshadowed every year by the ever-so commercialized Christmas. Christmas is my favorite holiday, but it seems every year the advertisements start earlier and get more ridiculous. Seemingly, advertisers go straight from Halloween to Christmas – so for this Thanksgiving I thought I’d give a shout out to our beloved holiday of Thanksgiving.

This year make sure to take some time out to remember what the holiday season is really about. Being with family, eating, drinking, being merry and giving thanks for all the wonderful blessings we have in our lives.

Thank you Mr. Turkey for the wonderful meal you will be giving me and my loved ones – and just know, at least one of your devoted fans will not forget you in all your glory.

So, with that being said – I hope everyone a very Happy & safe Thanksgiving!!

Comments
One Response to “An Ode to the Turkey”
  1. Amy Bryson says:

    Amen! My birthday is November 30 and so we usually celebrate around Thanksgiving holiday when we had family in town. Thanksgiving is my all-time favorite holiday – food family and football – you can’t beat it!

    This year I am especially thankful because I get to host my very first Thanksgiving. My mother is coming to Garner, and I get to host the ultimate cook in my new house. I had to ask for a roasting pan for my birthday because I don’t even have one – I’ve never roasted a turkey. Luckily Martha Stewart provides numerous how-to instructions for stuffing a turkey.

    Menu will consist of: herb-roasted turkey, turkey gravy with giblets, barley stuffing, garlic mashed potatoes, whole cranberry sauce (homemade), green beans, pumpkin pie and chocolate pecan pie. Mom is bring the herbed rolls. Fortunately our dinner attendance will only be three people so LOTS OF LEFTOVERS!

    Thank you for the shout out to Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

